Reigning world freestyle champion All Mulla completes double triumph for 

Team Abu Dhabi with seventh successive win

 Abu Dhabi, UAE, 13 May, 2019: Rashed Al Tayer capped a superb double triumph for Team Abu Dhabi in the 2019 UIM-ABP Aquabike World Championship by recording his first Grand Prix victory in Portugal.

The Emirati fought off a fierce challenge from reigning Runabout GP1 world champion Jeremy Perez to win the deciding moto in dramatic style and claim overall success in this season’s opening Grand Prix in Portimao

Adding to the celebrations for Team Abu Dhabi, Rashid Al Mulla completed a remarkable seventh Grand Prix victory in a row to launch his bid for a second successive world title.

Al Tayer, who had claimed his first win in the UIM-ABP World Slalom Championship less than 24 hours earlier, avenged his narrow defeat by Perez in the opening moto, leading a tense second race from start to finish and holding off the Frenchman’s late surge to win by three seconds.

“I made sure not to make the same mistake as yesterday and let Jeremy get back at me,” said Al Tayer. “He put me under pressure in the closing laps but this time I managed to get through the back markers better and that made the difference.”

Extending his freestyle dominance, Al Mulla scored 89pts out of 100 to take victory ahead of Italian Roberto Mariani. In the Ski Division GP1, Team Abu Dhabi’s Salman Al Awadhi finished tenth overall.

Captions: 1. Rashed Al Tayer - scored a brilliant first Grand Prix victory in Portugal

2. Rashid Al Mulla – the freestyle world champion made it seven wins in a row