Team Abu Dhabi to field three-boat team in fourth round of prestigious UIM F1 H2O

 LIUZHOU (CHINA): Tuesday, September 26:  Team Abu Dhabi’s Alex Carella has the perfect opportunity to extend his advantage in the 2017 UIM F1 H2O World Championship when he and team-mates Thani and Rashed Al-Qemzi take part in this weekend’s Grand Prix of Liuzhou on the Lui River in China.

 Three-time World Champion Carella (2011, 2012 and 2013) currently leads the six-round series by eight points after three races and knows that a podium finish would enhance his chance of winning a first driver’s title with the team running under the auspices of the Abu Dhabi International Marine Sports Club (ADIMSC).

 Team Sweden’s Erik Stark - a four-time F2 World Champion - led from pole position to secure his first ever victory in F1 in Harbin last month and the Swede is now tied in third position in the points’ standings with defending champion Philippe Chiappe of France. Two-time World Champion Sami Selio is Carella’s closest rival on 30 points, despite not finishing the last race in China.

 “I start to think of the championship now and not winning each of the races,” said a determined Carella. “In Harbin, Sami (Selio) and Shaun (Torrente) retired and I decided to settle for my fourth position. It was a good result for me and for Team Abu Dhabi. Now the outcome is in our hands. We will take each race as it comes.”

 Thani Al-Qemzi is one of the most experienced racers on the F1 H2O scene and the Emirati holds sixth in the championship standings. He knows that victory in Liuzhou could catapult him into contention for the title as well, although his and Carella’s joint success so far this season means that Team Abu Dhabi heads to Liuzhou with a 19-point advantage over Team Sweden in the UIM Teams’ Championship.

 Rashed Al-Qemzi drives the third boat and is enjoying mixed results on his first foray into F1 racing after winning last year’s F4-S Trophy title. The talented young Emirati faces two of the most important weeks of his career as well: he will head straight to Portugal after the Grand Prix of Liuzhou to try and clinch a maiden UIM F2 World Championship in Ribadouro.

 The Liuzhou race meeting will also feature two 20-minute F4 races. Team Abu Dhabi’s Mohammed Al-Mehairbi moved up to third in the Trophy standings after finishing runner-up in the second of the Harbin races. Mansoor Al-Mansoori of the Emirates Racing Team holds a one-point advantage over Frenchman Jeremy Brisset heading to the Chinese double-header.

 Etihad Airways is the official carrier for Team Abu Dhabi that is also supported by the Abu Dhabi Sports Council and runs under the patronage of His Highness Sheikh Dr. Sultan Bin Khalifa Al-Nahyan, advisor to the Head of State and chairman of the board of directors of the Abu Dhabi International Marine Sports Club and under the guidance of His Highness Sheikh Mohammed Bin Sultan Bin Khalifa Al-Nahyan, Vice-President and CEO of the ADIMSC. The racing team runs under the umbrella of the ADIMSC, board member and general manager Salem Al-Remeithi and team manager Guido Cappellini.

 “We are entering a crucial part of the season and the next two weeks could well map out our successes this year,” said Al-Remeithi. “The team is well prepared and we are looking forward to the challenges that lie ahead.”

 The weekend’s timetable gets underway with technical scrutineering and registration on Friday (September 29), followed by free practice for the F1 and F4 boats in the afternoon.

 F4 drivers take to the water from 09.30hrs for further free practice and timed trials on Saturday morning and this precedes a one-hour practice session for the F1 runners, starting at 10.30hrs. The first of the two 20-minute F4 races starts at 13.30hrs and is followed by the three-stage BRM Qualifying sessions from 15.00hrs (11.00hrs UAE time).

 Further F4 free practice and timed trials start at 08.30hrs on Sunday (October 1) morning and are followed by the final F1 practice session at 09.45hrs and the second of the F4 races from 11.10hrs. The 2017 Grand Prix of Liuzhou takes centre stage on the Liu River course from 14.00hrs (10.00hrs UAE time).

 2017 UIM F1 H2O World Championship – positions after round 3:

1. Alex Carella (UAE) Team Abu Dhabi                                                    38pts   

2. Sami Selio (FIN) Mad Croc Baba Racing                                   30pts               

3. Erik Stark (SWE) Team Sweden                                                                27pts  

3. Philippe Chiappe (FRA) CTIC F1 Shenzhen China Team                        27pts    

5. Ahmed Al-Hameli (UAE) Victory Team                                                      21pts   

6. Thani Al-Qemzi (UAE) Team Abu Dhabi                                    20pts  

7. Duarte Benavente (PRT) F1 Atlantic Team                                     14pts

8. Shaun Torrente (USA) Victory Team                                                     12pts

8. Jonas Andersson (SWE) Team Sweden                                               12pts   

10. Bartek Marszalak (POL) Blaze Performance Team                     11pts, etc

2017 UIM F1 H2O Pole Position Trophy – positions after round 3:

1. Erik Stark (SWE) Team Sweden                                                                32pts

1. Ahmed Al-Hameli (UAE) Victory Team                                                                32pts

3. Philippe Chiappe (FRA) CTIC F1 Shenzhen China Team                        31pts    

4. Shaun Torrente (USA) Victory Team                                                     29pts

5. Alex Carella (UAE) Team Abu Dhabi                                                            27pts

6. Thani Al-Qemzi (UAE) Team Abu Dhabi                                    24pts

7. Sami Selio (FIN) Mad Croc Baba Racing                                   17pts               

8. Grant Trask (AUS) F1 Atlantic Team                                                     7pts      

9. Duarte Benavente (PRT) F1 Atlantic Team                                    5pts

2017 UIM F4-S Trophy – latest positions:

1. Mansoor Al-Mansoori (UAE) Emirates Racing Team                      44pts    

2. Jeremy Brisset (FRA) F1 Atlantic Team                                                    43pts

3. Mohammed Al-Mehairbi (UAE) Team Abu Dhabi                      34pts               

4. Kalle Viippo (FIN) Mad Croc Baba Racing                                       24pts

5. Louise Vella (AUS) Team Sweden                                                                18pts

6. Mohamed Al-Yamahi (UAE) Victory Team                                    16pts                                     

7. Sebastien Haugaard (SWE) Team Sweden                                               15pts                    

8. Corentin Guesnel (FRA) Maverick F1                                              13pts                                                                                 

9. Damon Cohen (AUS) Blaze Performance                                                8pts

10. Bingchen Wu (CHN) CTIC F1 China Team                                     7pts